magharabi: (Rhino~ squee)
[personal profile] magharabi
Wednesday was my first visit to an OB/GYN. I have heard that they usually don't bother doing an ultrasound until 20 weeks (and I'm only at 12) BUT he did one anyway! Apparently he likes to do them at about 9 weeks. So.




Look, look! It's my baby! Info box on the right shows size in cm, how far along it is, and projected due date. No gender yet- that's gonna be end of August, just in time for us to take the news in person to husby's family back east!

Fun fact: it hurts like a bugger, because they have to push hard into an area you've been coddling.

Funner fact: OMG we got to see its little heart beating. TOTALLY WORTH IT.

Doc asked how I'd been feeling and I said, "Well, great! I only get a little baseline nausea, and every once in awhile, it'll start getting stronger and stronger in waves. And just when I think I've gotta high-tail it to the bathroom I sneeze. And feel better." I'd gotten some interesting looks from friends and family telling that story, but the look on the OB's face, who I was pretty sure (and who I'm pretty sure was pretty sure himself) had heard it all- it was utterly priceless. It was like that episode in Ouran where Tamaki's head literally explodes inside, and the twins yell "He's regressing!" Doc had that sort of look on his face. It took him a second to reboot. And he moved right along, very professional.

I think of all the "what do you say after that?" responses I've heard, my Grandma's takes the cake. "Well, you've always been different, dear. No reason to stop now!"

Thanks, Granny. I love being reminded that somehow I'm the black sheep. *thumbs up!*

We also had blood drawn for tests. (Your family has a history of Cystic Fibrosis and your dad was adopted? *whips out the needle* Let's find out whatcha got, then!) I don't talk about it much here on LJ, but I freak and almost pass out at the concept of a flu shot. Guess what the thought of drawing blood does to me? Thankfully, I figured it was coming, so I didn't immediately completely flip at the mere mention of it. The lab nurse had me lay down (something they've never had me do) and I held husby's hand. I did really well! Hyperventilated a bit and gave husby the firmest handshake he's ever gotten from me. But I didn't verge on fainting. Didn't go into extreme shock. Shoot, I didn't even visibly shake (though I was a little bit afterwards- just really subtly)! So that was good.

Apparently, sometimes the first trimester is the "Anti-craving craving trimester". Meaning, what, exactly? Meaning that I crave sustenance, but any and all food looks, smells, or tastes utterly disgusting. Sneeze inducing disgusting. It's a weird new level of depression to look at fully stocked cupboards, a full fridge and a full freezer and despair, thinking how you have nothing to eat in your house because everything you've bought will make you outrageously ill. Meanwhile, you start to shake because guess what? When the husby wasn't home to say "Oh just make soup!" you had the same problem and have therefore not eaten anything but a prenatal vitamin in the last 16 hours.

This is a big problem. Both for wishing to lose fat (not necessarily weight- since I'm not supposed to) and for, you know, growing a baby. Calories are essential.

So we bought some canned food- ravioli, soups, spaghetti. Because I can drum up enough will to eat to open a can and eat it straight. Not necessarily cook something.

Turns out, I've been wanting ravioli this whole time. We bought them yesterday. I've already gone through two cans this morning, and it isn't even lunch time. OTL.

In other news, the move went well. We're slowly settling in, which is fine by me. We got a kitchen table with four chairs (our first!) and I'm getting to the point where I'm like, "MUST. HAVE. PICTURES ON WALLS!!!" So we're doing a bit of decorating, too, which makes the place seems a lot more like home.

And OMG dishwasher! It's my favorite thing in the world. I love not spending HOURS at the kitchen sink, AND being able to keep up with dishes at the same time! If I could hug it, I would. But that would be a little awkward.

The cats are having a heyday, bending all the new blinds (:|) and hunting spiders (there are a million, and they're all the size of a quarter. :|) and climbing through the bathroom drawers (:|) and ever so slowly making friends with the neighborhood stray (:D). His name is Tiger, according to the upstairs tenants, and he used to live in the apartment we now occupy. I call him Boyfriend Kitty, or sometimes Boyfriend. Because Cream flirts with him, as I knew she would. Mal has stopped hissing and spitting at him in the window, and now just sits and stares. I think they'll be best friends in another couple of months, and we might be able to let him in.

After we finish getting Mal and Cream their vaccinations, that is. >.> (In our defense, we thought they'd been done by the adoption agency! It wasn't until recently we found their papers and realized that no, in fact, they didn't! *PANIC TIEM OH YES!*)

So. Sorry for the wall o' text. It's been awhile since I updated and, as you can see, A LOT has happened. ^_^ It's so exciting!

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 06:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ghostfriendly.livejournal.com
Congrats, well done for going through all this stuff, and looking forward to a safe arrival.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 07:21 pm (UTC)

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 06:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] makinhistory.livejournal.com
Aw, babeh! I know it's early, but are you picking out names yet? :D

Praying for a safe pregnancy and delivery! :)

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 07:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
Me, too! Oh gosh, me too! Hehe.

Well~ We've got a couple name ideas that we kinda like. Not anything that's made us go "Yes. Our child MUST be named this or the universe will implode." But ideas. Mostly, though, we play a game called "Utahrd Names" where we try to mash our parents' or grandparents' names together and create the most absurdly spelled recognizable names in existence. (This is a common naming convention here in Utah. And one that many other Utahans make fun of. Hence the term Utahrd.) It's provided for... not many viable names, but a ton of good laughs at our own expense.

Also, I don't know if you're still in touch with Kat (she used to go by Nix online) or not, but if you are would you let her know? I miss her and hope she's doing well.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 07:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] makinhistory.livejournal.com
Aw, that's so cute! As long as you don't actually name the kid "Utahrd." Although, you'd never have problems trying to find them in a crowded room...XD

But yes, of course I'll let Kat know! We went to school in Illinois together, so we keep in touch regularly. :)

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 09:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] makinhistory.livejournal.com
Kat says, and I quote, "omg, that's awesome!!"

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
lol thanks Rachel! ^_^

And... yeah. We'll come up with a wonderfully decent name for our child. Heaven knows s/he will have a hard enough time with our last name. Heh.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 08:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lily22.livejournal.com
Oh, that is so exciting and scary! But mostly exciting! I hope everything goes smoothly. What is "morphberry"?

Glad you found something you can eat. :) Those spiders sound terrifying though...

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
lol Morphberry is our nickname for the baby until we find out a gender and can actually come up with a real name. It's actually the third nickname, the first being "Vampiric Blob" and the second being "Parasitic Jellyfish." Thankfully, babies grow out of the blob/jellyfish stages rather quickly, and take on the characteristics of a morphed lima bean (that's about the size of a blueberry) for a few weeks, as opposed to a few days. So that's the name that stuck.

And... yes. We are actually a bit odd, too. Though I'm sure that has nothing to do with it. >.>

Did I mention that the spiders are a brownish red color all over? And they CHARGE at you when you turn on the lights. So actually I'm quite happy we have the cats patrolling the house. It keeps them occupied, and lets the bugs know that there are bigger badder predators with sharper teeth about. :D

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-09 09:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dontcallmynamex.livejournal.com
Woah! You've been busy!!!

*never understod these scans, but is going to stare at it for ages anyway*

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
LOL they make a lot more sense when you see them live, cuz the doc moves it around and you get a sense of the 3D. Um. In short, though, the top cross is at the top of the head, the bottom is at the feet...

But yeah. Unless you already know what you're looking at, it just looks like random lines. Heh.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dontcallmynamex.livejournal.com
Haha, looks like lines to me, though I'm sure it would make a lot more sense if I'd ever seen one of these.

The disadvantages of being a child :|

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 10:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
My youngest siblings were born when I was like, 10 and 12 so because of that I've been pretty familiar with how an ultrasound is to be "read". All it takes is the doc pointing it out to you a couple times and your brain kinda... fills in the details. Also they get a bit clearer as the baby gets to be... you know. More human shaped. And bigger. Never fear, the art of ultrasound understanding is one that comes with age (and martial arts training /bnr). ^_^ Maybe I'll photoshop the next one with color coded outlines. *nod nod*

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 10:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dontcallmynamex.livejournal.com
I'm the youngest in the family, so yeah xD

Oooh! That would be useful! And maybe I'll be more successful in the "spot the baby" game next time =P

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-10 01:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spwinkles.livejournal.com
Oh wow! Big congrats! I hope your pregnancy goes well?? I...don't know how else to say that! xD;
But seriously--that is great. :D

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
Thanks! ^_^

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] knightofend.livejournal.com
baby baby baby


BABY!!!!!!

*____*

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] magharabi.livejournal.com
I need one of my Robin icons. Hang on.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-11 09:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] history-pirate.livejournal.com
INORITE??? lolol

October 2025

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930 31 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios